Monday, May 28, 2007

1949: The “Neptunes”, post World War II, Champions

The “Neptunes” winners of the 1949 Championship in Malta.: (Back row) Franz Wismayer, Louis Demajo Albanese, Jimmy Platts, Babsie Podestà, Alex Mizzi, Wilfred Podestà. (Front row) Bertie Portelli, Lewis Wismayer, Frank Miggiani, Loris Manché.
World War II broke out in September 1939 and official competitions resumed in 1945. After winning the 1945 and 1949 leagues and the 1947 and 1949 competitions, Neptunes were to face a ten-year barren spell as no youngsters could be found, able to replacing the ageing veteran

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.