Wednesday, December 31, 2014

1932, Los Angeles: The Golden Hungarians.

The team of Hungary gold winner in Los Angeles 1932 Olympic Games. The team: Barta István, Bródy György, Halassy Olivér, Homonnai Márton, Ivády Sándor, Keserű Alajos, Keserű Ferenc, Németh János, Sárkány Miklós, Vértesy József

1956, Melbourbe: The winners of Hungary.

The team of Hungary winner of gold medal in Melbourne 1956 Olympic Games. The team coached by Béla Rajki:  Bolvári Antal, Boros Ottó, Gyarmati Dezső, Hevesi István, Jeney László, Kanizsa Tivadar, Kárpáti György, Markovits Kálmán, Mayer Mihály, Szivós István, Zádor Ervin.

Thursday, December 25, 2014

1936, Berlin: Water Polo action in the Olympic Pool

Action during Berlin 1936 Olympic Games in the full house competition pool.
Source: private collection 

1930: The team of Cercle Natation de Spa, Belgium

The team if Cercle Royal de Natation de Spa, Belgium in 1930
Source: private collection

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

1921: Match in the river Seine, Paris

Match in the river Seine organized by the Sporting Club Choisy-Le-Roi, Paris in 1921.
Source: personal collection

1963: Inland NU Pike Water Polo Club, USA.

The Inland Nu Pike Water Polo Club, All American USA Water Polo Champions in 1963. The team: Monte Nitzowski, Bob Horn, Ken Lindgren, Stan Sprague, Ken Smith, Paul Zack, Charles Mackh, Dave Ashleigh, Dave Coon, Bill Russell Chuck Bittick, Stan Cole, Russ Webb, Stan Sprague.
Source: courtesy of Graig Wilson 

1930: Water Polo for Ladies at Stoke Newington

"Water Polo for Ladies (1930)" Filmed at Stoke Newington, London. Mere man's one-time exclusive water sport is now being dived right into by the girls." Source: British Pathe

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

1951, Alexandria: The bronze team of Greece.

The National team of Greece at the 1st Mediterranean Games held in Alexandria, Egypt on 1951. The Greek won bronze medal following Spain (gold) and Egypt (silver)
Source: courtesy Ioannis Kourandis 

1953: The Champions of Ethnicos Piraeus, Greece

The team of Ethnicos Piraeus winner of the 1953 Greek National Championship. Chatzikyriakakis, Lekakis, Kalfamanolis, Takousis, Georgiadis, Garyfallos, Kourandis. Source: courtesy Ioannis Kourandis 

Monday, December 22, 2014

1920: Water Polo in the Berlin Deutsches Stadion

Water Polo game in the Deutsches Stadion in Berlin in 1920. The 100m length pool was adjacent to the Stadium built to host the 1916 Olympics (canceled due to World War I). It was demolished in 1934 and replaced by the 1936 Berlin Olympic Stadium. 
Source: private collection 

1964, Tokyo: The bronze team of USSR.

The team of Soviet Union, bronze winner in Tokyo 1964 Olympic Games. Top row L-R: Eduard Egorov, Head coach, Andrei Yulevich Kistyakovsky, Leonid Osipov, Coach Evgeny Semenov, Nikolai Kuznetsov, President of the Water Polo Federation of the USSR Vitali Smirnov, Boris Popov, Vladimir Semenov; Bottom L-R: Boris Grishin, Igor Grabowski, Zenon Bortkiewicz, Vladimir Kuznetsov, Nikolai Kalashnikov, Victor Ageev, P. Ivanov (translator).
In Tokyo the two favorites were Hungary and Yugoslavia who had been first and second respectively in Helsinki (1952) and Melbourne (1956), and in Rome (1960) have been placed 3-4 behind Italy and the Soviet Union. Those same four teams went through the preliminary round in Tokyo by winning their groups. All four of the favorites also advanced through the semi-final groups, with Russia ranked first ahead of Italy in their group. In the other group Hungary and Yugoslavia won one match each, had one win carried over, and when they met, they tied 4-4, with Hungary winning the pool by goal differential. In the final round, Hungary and Yugoslavia would not meet their match score carrying over from the semi-finals. Hungary defeated Italy 3-1, and the Soviet Union 5-2, while Yugoslavia defeated the Soviets 2-0, and Italy 2-1. This gave Hungary the gold medal by goal differential in the final round, with Yugoslavia second and the Soviets winning bronze. These same four teams had finished 1-4 at the last three Olympic Games (1956-64).
Source: Russian Amateur Waterpolo League (