Sunday, March 31, 2013

1975, Cali: The bronze team of Italy.

The team of Italy bronze medal at Cali 1975 2nd World Championships. Standing L-R: Gigi Raspini, Gianni Lonzi (Coach), Roldano Simeone, Roberto Castagnola, Carlo De Gaudio, Marcello del Duca, Alessandro Ghibellini, Gianni de Magistris, Alberto Alberani. Squatting L-R: Luigi Castagnola, Sante Marsili, Silvio Baracchini, Enzo d' Angelo, Mario Scotti Galletta. 
Source: Luigi Castagnola

1897: The Cup won by Lurnine Champion of California.

The Cup given to the Champion of California, USA "Lurnine" in 1897. 
Source: private collection 

1897: The team of Lurnine Champions of California

The team of Lurnine Champion of California, USA in 1897 with the Cup. 
Source: Newspaper "San Francisco Call" of 14 December 1897

Saturday, March 30, 2013

1984: The Champions of Dynamo Moscow

The team of Dynamo Moscow winner of the 1984 USSR Championship. Standing L-R: H.Chykvanaya (coach) D.Apanasenko, M. Ivanov (Captain), D.Schederkyn, A.Vdovyn, E.Gryshyn, S.Nekrasov (Coach), Sitting L-R: K. Konah.V. Yachmenëv.A. Maršalkin, A. Mastâev,A. Sobolev. 
Source: courtesy of Michail Ivanov 

Thursday, March 28, 2013

The magnificent 1 + 10

Baron Pierre De Coubertin, father of modern Olympic Games, was saying that “The most important thing in the Olympic Games is not winning but taking part”. Believing or not this famous quote we go back to see the Water Polo's “Magnificent 1 + 10” players who did, in fact, participate most times at the Olympics: 
6 participations
Manuel Estiarte, Spain: 1980, 1984, 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000
5 participations
Paul Radmilovic, Great Britain: 1908, 1912,1920, 1924, 1928 Dezso Gyarmati, Hungary: 1948, 1952, 1956, 1960, 1964 Gianni De Magistris, Italy: 1968, 1972, 1976, 1980, 1984 George Mavrotas, Greece : 1984, 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000 Jordi Sans, Spain : 1984, 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000 Salvador Gomez, Spain : 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004 Jesus Rolan, Spain: 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004. Tibor Benedek, Hungary 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008. Tamas Kasas, Hungary 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008, 2012 and Giorgos Afroudakis (Greece) 1996, 2000,2004, 2008, 2012 

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

1928: France Vs Hungary 3-6 at the pool of Paris

Action during a friendly game between France and Hungary (3-6), held at the pool of Paris “Les Tourelles” just before the Amsterdam 1928 Olympics.
Source: public domain 

Monday, March 25, 2013

1906: The team of Brighton Swimming Club

The Brighton Swimming Club's Senior Water Polo team winner of the 1906 Sussex Championship. Brighton SC won also the 1894, 1895, 1900, 1902, 1903, 1906 Sussex Championships. 

1912: A Water Polo team in the Netherlands.

A group of a Dutch Water Polo players in 1912. 

1912: Water Polo match at the pool of Hague.

Water Polo game during the year festival of the "Haagsche Swimming and Polo club" in the pool of Hague, Netherlands in 1912. 

Sunday, March 24, 2013

1957: The Dutch team at the "Trofeo Italia", Zagreb

The Dutch team during the presentation of the 1957 Trofeo Italia held in Zagreb.
Source: archives of the Royal Dutch Swimming Federation 

1952, Helsinki: The team of Netheralnds departing

The team of Netherlands, 5th in Helsinki 1952 Olympic Games, at their departure for the Games. The  team: Max van Gelder, Gerrit Bijsma, Nijs Korevaar, Cor Braasem, Frits Smol, Ruud van Feggelen, Joop Cabout. 
Source: archives of the Royal Dutch Swimming Federation

1949: The Dutch team winner of Trofeo Italia

Caricature of the Dutch National Water Polo team winner of the prestigious "Trofeo Italia" held in 1949 in Genova, Italy.
Source: archives of the Royal Dutch Swimming Federation

1950, Vienna: The golden Dutch team

The team of Nederlands, winner of gold medal at Vienna, 1950 European Championships along with the Dutch National swimmers prior to departing for the competition. The golden Dutch team: Gerrit Bijsma, Cor Braasem, Rudy van Feggelen, Max Gabout, Hennie Keeteral, Nijs Koorevaar, Frits Smol, Joop Gabout, Gaston Finee and Nico Luchs. Ranking: 1. Nederlands, 2. Sweden, 3.Yugoslavia, 4. Italy, 5. Austria, 6. France, 7. Switzerland.
Source: archives of the Royal Dutch Swimming Federation 

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

1922: The Women's team of Magyar Úszó Egylet (MUE).

The Women's Water Polo team of Magyar Úszó Egylet (MUE), Budapest in 1922.

1938: The team of Ferencvárosi Torna Klub.

The team of Ferencvárosi Torna Klub (FTC) of Budapest in 1938 

1941: The team of Ferencvárosi Torna Klub.

The team of Ferencvárosi Torna Klub (FTC) of Budapest in 1941: Török, Molnár, Tátos, Németh, Hohl, Karinthy, Bródy. 

Saturday, March 9, 2013

1974: Pro-Recco winnner of its 14th title in Italy

The team of Pro Recco wins its 14th National Championship in Italy in 1974. The team: Bianconi, Cattino, Pizzo, Zecchin, Galbusera, Sassarini, Ghibellini, Alberani, E. Barlocco, Solimei and M.Barlocco. 

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

1974: The winners of Ethnicos Piraeus

The team of Ethnicos Piraeus winner of the 1974 Greek National Championship. The team: Dimitris Kougevetopoulos, Michalis Armenakis, Thomas Karalogos, Yiannis Karalogos, Yiannis Thymaras (Coach), Koulis Iosifidis, Anargyros Kehagias, Petros Chatzikyriakakis, Naso Kondos, Dimitris Theodoropoulos.
Source: arcives Ethnicos Piraeus

Sunday, March 3, 2013

1976, Montreal: The bronze team of Netherlands.

The team of Netherlands coached by Ivo Trumbic, bronze winner at Montreal 1976 Olympic Games. The Dutch team: Alex Boegschoten, Toni Buunk, Andy Hoepelman, Evert Kroon, Nico Landeweerd, Hans Smits, Gijze Stroboer, Rik Toonen, Jan Evert Veer, Hans van Zeeland, and Piet de Zwarte. 

Saturday, March 2, 2013

1932, Los Angeles: The golden Hungarians

The team of Hungary gold winner at Los Angeles 1932 Olympic Games. Back row: Homonnay, Brody, Nemeth, Ivady, Komjadi (Coach). Front row: Vertesi, Halassy, Keseru, Barta.