Monday, November 23, 2015

1902: The winners of Knickerbocker A.C

The team of of Knickerbocker Athletic Club, New York winners of the US Championships from 1899 to 1902.
Source: Stampa Sportiva #27, July 1909

1909: The winners of Societa Podistica Lazio

The team of “Societa Podistica Lazio” winner of the 1909 National Water Polo Championship in Italy. The team won at the Acque Albule, Tivoli of Rome against Rari Nantes Roma (4-0) and against “Mariners of the 1st Department of Spezia (4-0). From L-R: Bitelli, Pizzingrili, Kustermann, Schiavi, Torchio, Tofini, Retachi.
Source: Stampa Sportiva #27, July 1909

Friday, November 13, 2015

1979: The team of Libertas Nuoto Pescara

The 1979 team of "Libertas Nuoto Pescara" promoted for the 1st time into the 1st Division of the Italian Championship. Standing L-R: Girolimetti (Team Official), D' Onofrio, Briga, Tornar, D'Altrui (Coach), Gobbi, Carboni (Team Official), Raducci, Lippi, Rapini Rainaldi (Doctor). Kneeling L-R: Mascellanti, Santarelli, Felicetti, Papa, Pietrostefani, Rainaldi, Barbara.
Source: Luciano Bonici Archive

1978: The team of Algida Rari Nantes Florentia

The team of Algida Rari Nantes Florentia, 3rd in the A division 1978 Italian Championship.
Source: personal collection 

Wednesday, November 11, 2015

1916: "The boys of Bristow" play Water Polo.

Front cover of the US magazine "Happy Days, Paper for young and old" New York, dated 8 April 1916.

Friday, November 6, 2015

1934, Magdeburg: The National team of Italy

The Italian National team that took part in Magdeburg 1934 European Championships (12-19 Aug 1934). Standing L-R: Luigi Fabiano (S.S. Mameli), Giordano Goggioli (R.N.Florentia), Enzo Zabberoni (R.N.Florentia), Mario Majoni (R.N.Camogli), Paolo Costoli (R.NFlorentia), Lorenzo Pastore (R.N.Camogli). Kneeling L-R: Luciano Scazzola (R.N.Milano, Giuseppe Valle (R.N.Florentia). Missing from the picture Sirio Banchelli (R.N.Napoli), Giordano Fuga (Ginnastica Triestina).

Wednesday, November 4, 2015

1912: The Drummoyne Water Polo tram

The team of Drummoyne Swimming Club in 1912, Winners of the ‘Club’ Water Polo Competition 1911-1912′. Back row: A. Martin, W. Salton (Honorary Secretary), W. Martin; Center row: B. Erickson, H. Christiansen (Captain), W. Baxter (Vice-Captain), T. Fitzgerald; Sitting (in front): G. Erickson