Thursday, February 28, 2013

1976, Montreal: The team of Yugoslavia

The team of Yugoslavia 5th at Montreal 1976 Olympic Games, coached by Vlaho "Bata" Orlic. Standing L-R: Dejan Dabovic, Uros Marovic, Predrag Manojlovic, Luko Vezelic, Damir Polic Squatting L-R: Zoran Mustur, Bobo Trifunovic, Bosko Lozica, Misa Markovic, Sinisa Belamaric, Predrag Vranes, Djuro Savinovic (Zoran Mustur, Bobo Trifunovic and Misa Markovic finally did not follow the team in Montreal) Missing from the picture Ozren Bonacic
Source: private collection; comments with the assistance of Zoran Mustur

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

1906: The Champions of Podistica Lazio, Rome

The 6th edition of Italian Men’s Water Polo Championship in 1906 (not recognized by the Italian Federation, FIN since the 1st official Championship is considered to take place in 1912), saw four teams competing: Rari Nantes Rome, the Roma Swimming, the Podistica Lazio and Virtus. The team of Podistica Lazio was the winner at the event held at Acque Albule of Tiveri, Rome.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

1950's: Painting from Sevastopol, 1950's

Painting by the unknown folk artist in Sevastopol, USSR in the 1950's

Friday, February 22, 2013

1906, Athens: The players from Sweden play in Piraeus

Unique document - The Swedish Water Polo players who played in the exhibition game at Middle Olympiad in Athens in 1906 with Piraeus in the background. Those are the first athletes ever who played Water Polo in Greece.

Thursday, February 21, 2013

1964, Tokyo: The silver medal of Yugoslavia

The silver medal won by the team of Yugoslavia at the Tokyo 1964 Olympic Games.The Team: Milan Muškatirović, Karlo Stipanić, Ivo Trumbić, Vinko Rosić, Zlatko Šimenc, Božidar Stanišić, Ante Nardeli, Zoran Janković, Mirko Sandić, Frane Nonković, Ozren Bonačić
Source: courtesy of Karlo Stipanić 

Monday, February 18, 2013

1948, London: The Olympic winners

The winners at London 1948 Olympic Games: Italy, Hungary and Holland. 
Source: Picture extracted from IOC's archive and rare footage:

Sunday, February 10, 2013

1908: Water Polo at the London Olympic Games

Water Polo competition at London 1908, Olympic Games. To note in the background of Water Polo field, scenes of the Cycling competition held in the White City Stadium.

1968: The winners of Mladost Zagreb.

The the caricature of "HAVK Mladost" Zagreb winner of the 1968 European Champions Cup. The team: Seifert (Head Coach), Lopatny, Bonacic, Jeger, A.Matosic, Poljak, Trumbic, Hebel, Stipanic, Z.Simenc, Pozojevic, Mikac.
Source: courtesy Karlo Stipanic 

Saturday, February 9, 2013

1980, Moscow: USSR - Yugoslavia 8-7

Rare footage from the gold game match USSR - Yugoslavia 8-7 at Moscow 1980 Olympic Games. USSR: Sharonov, Kotenko, Akimov, Grishin, Riisman, Kabanov, Barkalov, Shagaev, Mschvenieradze, Ivanov, and Sobchenko. YUGOSLAVIA: Zoran Roje, Milorad Krivokapić, Zoran Gopčević, Boško Lozica, Predrag Manojlović, Zoran Mustur, Milivoj Bebić, Damir Polić, Ratko Rudić, Slobodan Trifunović, Luka Vezilić. 
Source: courtesy Roman Akimov

1956: Soviet "fair play" cartoon

Cartoon made in USSR in 1956 with a Water Polo and Fair play subject. It concernes a Water Polo match with prize a car. The "black swans" turn to cunningly tricks and improper behavior. That does not help them to win, so they realize that by deception and impertinence they will not go away!

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

1954: The winners of Singapore

The National team of Singapore winner at Manila 1954 Asian Games. Singapore won in the final against Japan with 4-2. The team: Ho Kian Bin, Gan Eng Teck, Kee Soon Bee, Tam Eng Bock, Oh Chwee Hock, Tan Hwee Hock,  Wiebe Wolters
Source: courtesy Ms Justina Tan on behalf of Singapore Swimming Association  

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

1980 Moscow Olympic Games: USSR vs Hungary 5-4

The game USSR vs Hungary 5-4 for Moscow 1980 Olympic Games USSR: Sharonov, Kotenko, Akimov, Grishin, Riisman, Kabanov, Barkalov, Shagaev, Mschvenieradze, Ivanov, and Sobchenko Hungary: Endre Molnár, István Szívós, Jr., Attila Sudár, György Gerandás, György Horkai, Gábor Csapó, István Kiss, István Udvardi, László Kuncz, Tamás Faragó, and Károly Hauszler
Source: courtesy Roman Akimov