Monday, April 28, 2014

1927: Water Polo match in Lehrte, Germany

Water Polo match played in 1927 in Lehrte, a small industrial town and railway junction in North-Western Germany. The local swimming club, SV Lehrte, was founded in 1921 right after the end of World War I in the early days of the so-called “Weimar Republic”. The first venue of the Club was a pond with fixed sides. Water polo matches in Germany were mostly played on the occasion of Swimming Galas in those days. The goals used in Lehrte had no nets and were made of three wooden boards each; they were hanging in the air and kept in position by ropes.
Source: Wolfgang Philipps: Sonne – Wasser – Luft. 90 Jahre Schwimmsport in Lehrte und im Lehrter SV, 1921 – 2011, Lehrte 2011

Sunday, April 27, 2014

1914: The team of California Polytechnic State University.

The team of California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly) winner of the Southern California Championship in 1914.
Source: private collection

Friday, April 25, 2014

1930's: Water Polo match in Ismailia, Egypt

Water Polo match in Ismailia, Egypt in the 1930's
Source: Private collection 

1920's: The team of Union Sportive Cettoise.

The team of Union Sportive Cettoise (Sette, France) in the 1920's. At the back of the picture there is stamped "Warer -Polo-Foot-Ball". This is the team that won against Montpellier with 3 - 0. The team: 1. Fabre (arrière gauche) 2. Lapart (demi centre capitaine) 3. Roche (ailier gauche) 4. Granier (arriére droit) 5. Broussard (goal keeper) 6. Capelle (Ailier droit) 7. Chiosa (avant centre).
Source: private collection

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

1920: Match at the Docks of Sete, South France

Match of the Union Sportive Cettoise at the Docks of Sete, South France in the 1920's.
Source: private collection 

1920: The team of Union Sportive Cettoise (Sète)

The team of Union Sportive Cettoise (Sète) in the 1920’s 
Source: Private collection 

Saturday, April 19, 2014

1985: The Champions of CN Posillipo, Napoli.

The team of Circolo Nautico Posillipo, Napoli, Champions of Italy in 1985. The team coached by Paolo De Crescenzo: Giampaolo DE MEDICI, Carlo SIENA, Stefano POSTIGLIONE, Attila SUDAR, Gennaro FIORILLO, Michele BAVIERA, Franco PORZIO, Mario FIORILLO, Giuseppe PORZIO, Claudio PALUMBO, Marco POSTIGLIONE, Massimo FIORENTINO, Piero FIORENTINO, Antonello POSTIGLIONE, Andrea DE LAURENZIO, Carmine ARGENTIERO. 

Sunday, April 13, 2014

1976: The team of VK Kotor (Primorac).

The team of VΚ Kotor (Primorac) winner of the Solaris Sibenik Cup in 1976. Standing L-R: Trifun Miro Ćirković, Veselin Marković, Milorad Krivokapić, Andrija Popović, Zoran Gopčević, Slobodan Vičević, Milivoj Radulović, Ranko Popović; Squating L-R: Stojan Kostić, Dragan Samardžić, Petar Bošković, Želimir Uljarević ,Petar Porobić, Djordje Popović.
Source: courtesy of Andrija Popović

Saturday, April 12, 2014

1912: Match in the river Waveney at Beccles

Match in the river Waveney at Beccles, Suffolk England in 1912.
Source: Photo card published by H.Leyneck, New Market Studio, Beccles - private collection