Monday, May 28, 2007

1933:The first champions of “Neptunes”

The team of “Neptunes” winners of the 1933 Maltese Championship: (Back row) Franz Wismayer, John Chetcuti, Jimmy Chetcuti, Alfred Lanzon, Paul Mercieca, Babsie Podestà. (Front row) Anthony Degiorgio, Joe Demarco, is-sur Fred, Wilfred Podestà and Joe Albanese. In the 30’s, “Neptunes” won the Championship on the four occasions they took part in. That was in 1933, 1934, 1937 and 1938. It is interesting to note that the Maltese National Water Polo team that took part in the 1936 Olympic Games in Berlin included six players from the Neptunes’ side. These were Franz Wismayer, Jimmy Chetcuti, Joe Albanese, Wilfred and Babsie Podestà and Alfred Lanzon. Efforts to stage the 1936 Championship officially on the National team’s return from Berlin proved futile, as other clubs did not relish facing Neptunes with the aforementioned Olympians in their side.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.