Thursday, May 13, 2010

1968: The team of Australia that missed Mexico

The 1968 National team of Australia that did not enter to the Olympic Games competition in Mexico City due to technical conflict between the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC) and the Australian Swimming Union. Through no fault of the athletes, the adiministrative conflict escalated, over a number of months to involve both FINA and the International Olympic Committee, resulting in a decision by IOC President at the time, Avery Brundage to bar Australia's participation and support the initial AOC decision to block their entry.
The Australian team
: Back row L-R: Tom Hoad (c), Graham Samuels, John Harrison (g/k), Tony Harrison, Ian Mills. Front row L-R: Oscar Charles (Coach/Manager), Mick Withers (g/k), David Neesham, Bill McAtee, Nick Barnes, Bill Berge;Phillips Jnr, Dave Woods.
Source: Photo-Oscar Charles. Photo supplied courtesy of "Water Warriors: Chronicle of Australian Water Polo by Dr. Tracy Rockwell (2009)